Coverart for item
The Resource A deadly measure of brimstone : a Dandy Gilver mystery, Catriona McPherson

A deadly measure of brimstone : a Dandy Gilver mystery, Catriona McPherson

Label
A deadly measure of brimstone : a Dandy Gilver mystery
Title
A deadly measure of brimstone
Title remainder
a Dandy Gilver mystery
Statement of responsibility
Catriona McPherson
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
  • ""Highly recommended for fans of Downton Abbey." --G.M. Malliet, Agatha Award-winning author the Max Tudor mysteries In A Deadly Measure of Brimstone, Dandy and the whole Gilver clan travel to a spa town for a weekend of relaxation which is quickly interrupted by a slew of mysterious-- and deadly--events. The men of the Gilver family have come down, between them, with influenza, bronchitis, pneumonia and pleurisy. The family repairs to the town of Moffat, there to submit to the galvanic wraps and cold salt rubs of the splendid Laidlaw Hydropathic Hotel. But all is not well at the Hydro, and the secret of the lady who arrived but never left cannot be kept for long. And what of those drifting shapes in the Turkish bath? Just steam shifting in the air? Probably. But in this town the dead can be as much trouble as the living. "--
  • "Catriona McPherson's critically acclaimed mystery series set in 1920s Scotland and featuring plucky and laugh-out-loud-funny heroine Dandy Gilver is perfect for fans of PG Wodehouse, Dorothy L Sayers, and Agatha Christie. In this new book, Dandy and the whole Gilver clan travel to a spa town for a weekend of relaxation which is quickly interrupted by a slew of mysterious - and deadly - events. The men of the Gilver family have come down, between them, with influenza, bronchitis, pneumonia and pleurisy. The family repairs to the Borders town of Moffat, there to submit to the galvanic wraps and cold salt rubs of the splendid Laidlaw Hydropathic Hotel. But all is not well at the Hydro, and the secret of the lady who arrived but never left cannot be kept for long. And what of those drifting shapes in the Turkish bath? Just steam shifting in the air? Probably. But in this town the dead can be as much trouble as the living. "--
Assigning source
  • Provided by publisher
  • Provided by publisher
Cataloging source
DLC
Dewey number
823/.92
Index
no index present
LC call number
PR6113.C586
LC item number
D43 2014
Literary form
fiction
Series statement
Dandy Gilver
Series volume
4
Label
A deadly measure of brimstone : a Dandy Gilver mystery, Catriona McPherson
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Note
"A Thomas Dunne Book."
Carrier category
volume
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn869770622
Extent
pages ; cm
Isbn
9781250053978
Isbn Type
(hardcover)
Lccn
2014027777
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
System control number
(OCoLC)869770622
Label
A deadly measure of brimstone : a Dandy Gilver mystery, Catriona McPherson
Publication
Copyright
Note
"A Thomas Dunne Book."
Carrier category
volume
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn869770622
Extent
pages ; cm
Isbn
9781250053978
Isbn Type
(hardcover)
Lccn
2014027777
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
System control number
(OCoLC)869770622

Library Locations

    • Canton Public LibraryBorrow it
      786 Washington Street, Canton, MA, 02021, US
      42.158579 -71.145156
Processing Feedback ...